Additive Calculations

kristylkg2001

Premium
Before I bought the program, when I added in something like goats milk powder, it automatically calculated the amount I needed to add. Now it's not? I double checked my new recipe vs the one I have saved from the free version, and everything looks good. Not sure what I may be doing wrong?

kristylkg2001

Premium
New is vanilla cotton, old is Brazilian lemonade. I put the numbers in for the vanilla cotton one.

Elisheva

Premium
Same topic, different subject..... Im new to this calculator. I see that the Lye quantity increase automatically to account for the addition of citric acid. however... I'm not sure its enough.
> My understanding is my CA should be 2% of my oils. I do a 1000 oil batch. So that's 20g.
> I also have understood that the LYE should be increased 6g FOR EVERY 10g of CA. So thats 6g x 2 = 12g

So..... when testing this calculator, it only increased the lye by 6g (for a 20g addition of CA).. It should have been a 12g increase of lye. Can someone look into this?

Last edited:

Yooper

Administrator
Staff member
Premium
Upper Peninsula of Michigan/ Florida Gulf Coast
Same topic, different subject..... Im new to this calculator. I see that the Lye quantity increase automatically to account for the addition of citric acid. however... I'm not sure its enough.
> My understanding is my CA should be 2% of my oils. I do a 1000 oil batch. So that's 20g.
> I also have understood that the LYE should be increased 6g FOR EVERY 10g of CA. So thats 6g x 2 = 12g

So..... when testing this calculator, it only increased the lye by 6g (for a 20g addition of CA).. It should have been a 12g increase of lye. Can someone look into this?

Lye should be increased when using citric acid by .624 per gram for sodium hydroxide and .842 for potassium hydroxide.

Can you give me a recipe so I can look at this calculation in your recipe?

Yooper

Administrator
Staff member
Premium